WA Family Law - Should I Adhere to Solicitor's Deadline?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

MP78

14 October 2016
Hi,

I am in receipt of correspondence from my former partner's solicitor regarding a family law matter, and I am given no more than 1 business day to respond (this is marked in bold, underscored, etc., in the letter). There is no accompanying court deadline, just an instruction to respond to a counter offer within 1 business day. Mediation has not commenced either.

As I work full-time as a single mother, am I being unreasonable on advising that I will respond within 5 business days, that being a reasonable time to properly review the correspondence and draft a response?

sammy01

27 September 2015
Write back when you have a chance. Don't engage a solicitor at this point but just write back and politely inform them that you're in the process if responding. However, you feel their 1 day deadline is unreasonable and if the would like to disagree then can they please write back within 21 days to justify the reasons for disagreeing.

Yep, it is stupid.

Now I'm assuming this is the first letter? Not the third or fourth? And I'm assuming you have not been dragging the chain / delaying?

So help us out - what is the info in the letter? Appears to be about property settlement?

MP78

14 October 2016
Thanks Sammy01

It's the third letter from them, responding to my second (letter).

Each party has taken anywhere between 2 - 3 weeks to respond, although now they have insisted on 1 business day.