WA Ex Refuses Mediation for Financial Settlement - Help?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Michelly

3 April 2019
Hi,

My ex and I met abroad. I was a UNI student and he a property consultant. After insisting a lot and even buying me tickets to come to Australia for Holidays, I took a break from UNI and came here to spend time with him. Things escalated quickly and 5 months down the track he asked me to marry him, I said I couldn’t because I had to finish UNI, so he promised me to support me to have an education here if I left it all behind to marry him. It was a fairytale tale at the beginning.

But a couple of years down the track it became a nightmare, and I had to leave him for Domestic Violence reasons.

He never supported me to continue my education over here, as there was always something else more important, basically treated me as a maid, I had to cook and clean for him every day while also working full time and paying some of our bills. He then started his own business while we were together. I helped him with secretarial work, and by then, he was making over 200 k a year.

We never bought a house together, and I don’t know much at all about his financial situation, all I know is that he was earning a lot of money.

Now we just got divorced and I feel like not only I was treated very poorly but I also missed out the chance of a brighter future when I left everything behind for him. So I tried to reach an agreement with him regarding our finances as I’m in a disadvantaged situation post our marriage. I asked him to at least pay for my uni fees so that I can at least get back to where I was when I met him.

Summarising, I have been trying to engage with him in meditation, but he refuses. The mediator will issue me a refusal certificate.