VIC Driving while suspended

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Raja Singh

10 August 2017
Hello. I was caught driving my car while my licence was suspended and had to go to court after 4 months. I pled guilty and as I'm an international student and this was my first offence of such nature, the judge let me go with only a fine of $700. I'm currently waiting for the fine to arrive in my letter box but while I do so, can somebody please let me know what happens next? I mean, can I drive again? I don't want to get in trouble again so I just want to confirm if I'm eligible to drive again or not, or do the 7 demerit points I got would stay on my licence for a bit more time? The judge told me that he won't do anything to my licence but would let me go with just a fine. Please tell me because I need to gather money from somewhere to buy a car and start working again as I've been sitting idle for 4 months now and I'm broke. Thank you!

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
It's very simple - Fine or no fine, you can't drive until you have a licence.
Speak to VicRoads about getting the appropriate licence.
Do not rely on an International Drivers Permit.

Raja Singh

10 August 2017
It's very simple - Fine or no fine, you can't drive until you have a licence.
Speak to VicRoads about getting the appropriate licence.
Do not rely on an International Drivers Permit.