WA Director Hiring Previous Boss as My Subordinate - Employment Law Options?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Johnny D

12 December 2016
I've been working at the same company for 8 years. Initially, I started as a junior manager and reported to the general manager of the department. The general manager left as he became bored and complacent, this reflected in his performance .

A year after his departure, I was promoted to the general manager position. I have done this successfully for 3 years. A junior manager has resigned and the owner is insisting that his friend come on board as his replacement reporting to me.

He is qualified but my concerns are, he got complacent and left the business in a state of disrepair, he was a yes man while he was in the GM role. You can be certain any conversation you had with him was reported back to the owner of the business, he used to be my boss and mentor, his friendship with the owner I believe is a conflict of interest.

I have raised my concerns with the owner who has said he is not a threat and will only improve the business and solidify the management team. I think there may be an ulterior motive.

I should probably add that his original complacency and performance issues were raised by me approx 6 months prior to his resignation. It was raised with the owner and subsequently in person with him directly explaining that his inaction and complacency were affecting the performance of other departments. He took it on board and actually thanked me Then 6 months later resigned. Since then he has been in the same Industry working in the same Middle management role which I am hiring for. Has had 4 Jobs in the last 3 years