Derogatory Comments from Ex - Can't Afford Family Court

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Blue Grass

6 August 2014
For months, now the ex has been sending emails that are both derogatory and verbally abusive. Now the ex is telling the children (when on access) that I am basically stupid, and am mentally not all there. (I will add that I have a degree and am working on an MBA). We have limited contact and comments are unfounded and nothing more than an effort to have the children turn against me and live with the ex. I can't afford to go to family court. Is there anything I can do?

This is in no way in the best interest of the children.

sammy01

27 September 2015
Write back and tell him/her to stop. In the emails, also mention you have concerns about the communication between him/her and the kids. In short, be assertive.

If it continues, then take the emails to the cops and tell them you feel intimidated. You might find the cops will be prepared to make an AVO against the ex on the grounds of the harassing emails. If not then learn to ignore, ignore, ignore...

I've been in the same situation. Best day of my life is when I taught myself not just to ignore the emails / offensive crap, but to completely emotionally switch off to it. All of a sudden I felt calm and it was great.

Oh and as far as the kids go - look, you can't control what other people say / do, but you can control what you say / do. In my case, the kids started to perceive their mum's actions / words / behaviour as the problem. In short, they sided with me. One day, when I was picking up the kids and my ex was ranting at me for something stupid, my 9 year old told her mum to leave me alone. My little girl was displaying the sort of behaviour I've always tried to teach, show respect and stand up against bullying.