NSW Contract Law - How to Exit Personal Trainer Contract?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
21 July 2016
I am a personal trainer contracted with a gym as an independent business owner. One of the stipulations of that contract was in the first few months I had to work X hours per week in exchange for not having to pay them the full rent. They wrote on the contract I only had to do 10 hours per week but told me when I started that I had to do 15 hours and it was a typo and I had no choice yet they did not change the contract.

Now I have 3 months left on my contract and want to leave. I believe that due the above information that they have breached the contract and I should be able to leave without paying out the remainder of my contract.

They say that it doesn't matter and I have to pay it in full.

Is there a way I can use this to get out of the contract under contract law?

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Possibly. You may be able to claim duress.

Personal circumstances at the time of starting will determine whether or not you can make a case for duress. You can say to them release me or I will take you to court for rescission of the contract and damages (extra hours you worked).

Not sure what remedies you'd have if you were deemed an employee (possible payment for extra hours?)

Serge Gorval

2 November 2015
Sydney
lawtap.com
No, can't claim duress.

Parole evidence rule ( can't bring evidence contrary to written term) 10 hours should stay and they can't enforce you to do 15 hours.

If they try, then you can claim repudiation and break the contract.

If you are a genuine IC then you have a right to terminate the agreement under the termination clause of the contract or apply to the IRC under the Contract Review Act 1980 (NSW).

Things to consider however :