QLD Car Finance - Inherited Car Immobilised Due to Delinquent Loan?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Suzie Q

21 March 2017
Hi there,

This s a long story. In 2013 I lent my mum over $6000. In 2015, instead of paying me back, she bought me a car on car finance. The loan was taken in her name, and the car is registered in her name. Because she has bad credit, the car came with a code activated immobiliser. The car was purchased on the Gold Coast, and it is now in Townsville, where I live and study. This is my first car, and I am quite new to this.

Early 2016, I completely lost contact with my mum. She has serious mental health problems, and has changed her mobile phone number, moved house, and blocked me on facebook. When I reach out to her she abuses me. I can assure you that her hostility does not come from any fault of my own, simply paranoid mental health problems and possible drug abuse.

A few months ago, I stopped receiving immobiliser codes (a code must be entered to get the car started, which is updated weekly on the contingency that the weekly repayment has been made). This means that she has stopped paying off the car. I have been in touch with the company that provides the codes several times over the course of the last few months. They will not give me details of the debt collector, and have apparently passed my details on to the company.

I do not want this car any more. It runs perfectly well, but is now just sitting in my apartment parking lot, unable to be moved. I understand that I can not legally sell it to the wreckers, and of course it would be unethical to sell it to a private buyer. I also believe that to have the immobiliser removed would be illegal.

I believe that the amount still owing is not more than a few thousand dollars (3-5), certainly more than I can afford, being a completely independent uni student.