QLD Breach of DVO - Will Partner Face Jail Time?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Jodes24

29 November 2017
Hi.

This is my first time here. I was just wanting to know what kind of sentencing is normal here in QLD for breaches of DVO?

The night of the incident, my partner and I were both drinking. He pushed me, I hit him, then he restrained me. I called the police because I was quite drunk and wasn’t thinking at the time and he was taken away and is now on bail.

Because I hit him as well his lawyer advised that he plead not guilty. I have been summoned to appear in his court case next month and I am really worried he might get sent away. I do not think he deserves to go to prison considering it was the both of us that were involved.

I know this isn’t up to me but just wanted to know if anyone knows what kind of sentence there is for this kind of thing?

Thanks

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Let's talk about what we are really talking about.'
  1. No, you cannot vary your evidence to try and influence the outcome of the matter.
    When you go to court you will have to tell the truth, and all of it,
    in accordance with the oat h you will take as a witness.

So if you lie under oath, (including lying by leaving stuff out, or
    by pretending to be unsure, or by pretending to not remember stuff, or
    by pretending that you were too drunk to remember,
    then you can be committing an offence yourself.

2. His defence is his (and his lawyer's) problem, not yours.
    Understand that if he tries to influence you to say, or not say,
    something in court, then he is committing a further offence.

3. .It's really not possible to speculate on that a penalty might be in any given case.
    It depends on the offence, the facts and circumstances, and the history of the individual.

Clancy

6 April 2016