QLD Breach of Contract - Claim Loss of Income?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Auroch

31 July 2017
Hello team,

I am a painting contractor and entered into a QBCC contract to paint the external of a Queenslander style home. All contract conditions were followed before the client signed. Client paid deposit and work was started.

After a week working there, the client would not let us access the property on bogus claims our work was substandard and would not pay the first progress payment ($2,300.00). Since I am Dulux Accredited, Dulux rep inspected the work and found it well above industry standards.
I received email from the client terminating the contract.

QBCC was notified but since she has terminated the contract, dispute resolution is useless. Contacted QCAT (small claims) but they don't deal with Breach of Contracts. My only option is Court.

My question is, can I claim the amount on contract ($20,800.00) as loss of income through the courts? Would it be worth doing regarding legal costs?

Many thanks.

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
My question is, can I claim the amount on contract ($20,800.00) as loss of income through the courts?

Yes.

Would it be worth doing regarding legal costs?

Talk to some local lawyers and ask them the question. Keep in mind if successful and you get 'costs', the costs generally don't cover all costs. Discuss this with the lawyers. I'm still to get my head around how an award of costs does not cover all legal costs.

Reactions: Auroch

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
QCAT is an option for you if you want to sue as a minor debt (ie for a liquidated sum of money). Their jurisdiction is up to $25,000.

Auroch

31 July 2017
Thank you for your answers.