VIC Beneficiary rights after 55 years

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Lynduc

9 September 2017
I’m an author with a plot problem. Kaye dies in NSW in 1962. Her only living relative is a brother who dies the same time. He has 3 kids. Kaye’s will has gone astray in a solicitor's office in Beechworth and no one knows it exists. Her estate is willed to only the 1st of the 3 kids. The State Trustee distributes the estate, perhaps in trust until they reach 21? The missing will is found after 55 years but the sister-in-law has only given the money to the other 2 kids. Does the 1st child have any claim on the original estate?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
If you are indeed writing a work of fiction, then say whatever you like.
Nobody expects you to get the black-letter law 100% correct in a novel.

Lynduc

9 September 2017
If you are indeed writing a work of fiction, then say whatever you like.
Nobody expects you to get the black-letter law 100% correct in a novel.
Ahhh, but that's the thing - people will jump down your throat if they find an error. I never write fiction without researching first. I am for 101% correct!

winston wolf

21 April 2014
Adelaide
changefpa.com.au
Have a look at this http://www3.austlii.edu.au/au/journals/UNSWLawJl/2005/43.html
Check link number 37.
Possibly if there was a trust the estate could be deemed to have not been fully distributed(could be wrong) and a judge could allow a family provision claim under 1960's law.
I dont know if the act in use in the 60's allowed extension at the courts discretion? They do now.
BTW the experts can't figure estate law to 50% so you have wriggle room.

Lynduc

9 September 2017
Have a look at this http://www3.austlii.edu.au/au/journals/UNSWLawJl/2005/43.html
Check link number 37.