VIC Australian Consumer Law on Paying for Missed Appointments?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Dianne Horvath

9 November 2015
I'm a practice manager of an Allied Health Clinic and an Allied Health Professional myself. When patients at my practice miss appointments, I have never, myself or under any other practitioner or doctor, charged a full or partial fee for cancelled appointments.

I have a new Psychologist who has started to demand 1/2 their fee if a patient cancels. I have tried to look this up with our governing body AHPRA, but there's no clear answer. Is there an Australian Consumer Law which enforces the client to pay?

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Possibly yes. An oral contract is made, therefore, contract law can be applied. If a patient cancels through no fault of the doctor, then the doctor is entitled to damages under contract law. Though this is a long and difficult path to take to get the $200-300.

I'd imagine with the types of patients, some mentally ill, this would form a legal basis for non-payment due to failure to understand that a cancellation still requires a payment.

May be best to tell patients at the time of booking a cancellation that a fee will apply.

Dianne Horvath

9 November 2015
Possibly yes. An oral contract is made, therefore, contract law can be applied. If a patient cancels through no fault of the doctor, then the doctor is entitled to damages under contract law. Though this is a long and difficult path to take to get the $200-300.

I'd imagine with the types of patients, some mentally ill, this would form a legal basis for non-payment due to failure to understand that a cancellation still requires a payment.

May be best to tell patients at the time of booking a cancellation that a fee will apply.