NSW Asset division split, inheritance, free rental, future needs

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

george i

22 November 2019
Hi everyone, my heart goes out to all those on the forum. Good luck.
Anyways , need some help regarding Asset division split, inheritance, free rental, future needs.
Married 1999, 2 kids, now 17yo and 15yo, separated late 2016, mediation in 3 weeks time.
I am an engineer working in contaminated land industry for last 20 years and doing your typical 40 to 50 hour weeks between office and site (no overtime, given I'm on salary).

Note, at separation, wife lying and saying this like ".. take all the money", split everything "50/50, whilst i husband continue to put my entire fortnightly salary into the joint account. But then after saying to wife we can work this out between us, she got lawyers involved and offered 72.5% in her favour, my lawyers offered 57/43 in her favour and wife didn't take it.
Then wife told me to leave the house and live with my mum.
Then wife told me we should rent out the house and live separately until this gets sorted.
After the way returned from a girls weekend away , I was away for work i returned home, she is waiting on the couch and as soon as I stepped in the door she attacked me like a bull terrier accusing me for not managing the concreter and landscaper properly. I was organizing the landscaper and the concreter to finish the driveway and managed the landscaper.
Wife told me when in she is Greece for 2 months to organize whats remaining on the house and get it certified ready for sale.
What a piece of work.

In summary,
Husband contributions (worked his arse off to get where we are - renovated 2 houses);
Before marriage (1998) - $150k cash in bank.
2004 - husband mum gift $80k.