Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Bec576

16 August 2016
Hello,

This is my first time in this forum. I have family court orders of equal custody for 11 years now and I never received the right amount of child support, just $ 3 a month for 2 years and stopped completely.

I asked the child support agency for help as they said he is not working and live on gov't allowance. He also never got involved in any of the child's school or medical needs.

Recently, my child feels too upset with his verbal abuse over the phone on their daily phone call about his activity with his current partner. His partner is not around but living abroad and for the last 3 months, my child got so upset with all his stories with too much details for children, but he didn't get it. If it's too much to talk to a young child, even if the court order mentioned a daily call for one hour, he never used to call daily before, just because he wants to share his new love adventure with a young child who never asked or wanted to hear.

I'm too scared to speak up because he is on medication for his mental illness. I already sought help but I'm not sure what the chance of getting full custody of children are as I never get any support from him and he is so abusive to our child.

I also will get free one-time legal advice soon. What should I prepare to support a new court order application?

Thanks for any help.

AllForHer

23 July 2014
What you've listed here as 'verbal abuse' is not abuse by Family Court standards, so chance of getting full custody? None.

AllForHer

23 July 2014
Apologies if that seems blunt. Even if the father was calling the child names on the phone, I would probably say the same. It's near on impossible to get sole custody of a child because the legislation heavily favours children having both parents involved in their lives.

Bec576

16 August 2016